Lyndall Phelps: Science of Common Life

Enigma 1 The Anthropologist 2004. Glass, acrylic beads. Dimensions variable. Exhibited at Firstsite,
In this exhibition, the National Art Glass Gallery will become a unique laboratory, a place of surprising experimentation and transformation. Lyndall Phelps will create a site-specific installation that merges her research into the National Art Glass Collection and glass from the scientific world, with the many ways women incorporate glass into craft activities, now and in the past.

Expect the unexpected as test tubes, petri dishes, microscope slides and watch glasses playfully interact with netting, crochet and knitting embellished with beads and sequins. Audiences will be surprised and delighted, curious and intrigued.

The investigation of collections, both historical and contemporary, is central to Lyndall Phelps’ art practice. Within this context, Phelps regularly seeks out the scientific and the domestic, especially women’s craft. In her hands, these subjects, which at first might seem incongruous bedfellows, are combined in narrative-driven installations of exquisitely hand-crafted objects.

Glass is a recurring material within Phelps’ work, especially scientific glass, of which she is an avid collector. She is also drawn to glass’s transparent and light reflective qualities and the richness of colour it affords. For Science of Common Life, the precision and skill required to manufacture scientific glass will be echoed in Phelps' meticulously constructed, labour-intensive objects.

Dates + times:

Saturday 13 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 14 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 15 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 16 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 17 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 18 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 19 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 20 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 21 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 22 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 23 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 24 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 25 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 26 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 27 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 28 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 29 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 30 April 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 1 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 2 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 3 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 4 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 5 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 6 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 7 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 8 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 9 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 10 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 11 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 12 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 13 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 14 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 15 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 16 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 17 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 18 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 19 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 20 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 21 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 22 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 23 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 24 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 25 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 26 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 27 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 28 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 29 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 30 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 31 May 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 1 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 2 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 3 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 4 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 5 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 6 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 7 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 8 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 9 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 10 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 11 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 12 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 13 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 14 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 15 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 16 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 17 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 18 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 19 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 20 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 21 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 22 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 23 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 24 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 25 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 26 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 27 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 28 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 29 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 30 June 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 1 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 2 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 3 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 4 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 5 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 6 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 7 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 8 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 9 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 10 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 11 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 12 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 13 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 14 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 15 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 16 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 17 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 18 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 19 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 20 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 21 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 22 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 23 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 24 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 25 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 26 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 27 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 28 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 29 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 30 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 31 July 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 1 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 2 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 3 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 4 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 5 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 6 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 7 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 8 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 9 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 10 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 11 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 12 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 13 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 14 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 15 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 16 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 17 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 18 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 19 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 20 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 21 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 22 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 23 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 24 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 25 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Monday 26 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Tuesday 27 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Wednesday 28 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Thursday 29 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Friday 30 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Saturday 31 August 2024, 10am to 4pm
Sunday 1 September 2024, 10am to 4pm

Entry costs:

Free entry

Venue:

Wagga Wagga Art Gallery
Morrow Street
Corner Baylis Street
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Get directions

Facilities:

Cafe, Carpark, Coach Parking, Family Friendly, Non Smoking, Public Toilet, Shop / Gift Shop

Accessibility:

Actively welcomes people with access needs.

Share this event:

Category:

Art & Culture